My GPA, My life ,My rules…

“What makes a child gifted and talented may not always be good grades in school, but a different way of looking at the world and learning.”
Chuck Grassley

Well I would completely agree with Chuck on the topic of grades. Describing my adventure of engineering, the day I joined NUST, one of my senior
s asked us about our targeted GPA in first semester. I don’t want to sound like a racist man but a black guy besides me(who turned out to be my roommate in the first semester) answered it to be 4.00. I was really shocked by that seawave coming straight out of that black sea. Anyways, I kept it limited to 3.00 making my mind to increment it by 0.1 in each of the semester to come. I hardly get so good luck that when the result of 1st semester came out, mine was 3.00, thus making me passionate enough to sound like Sparta. By the time passed, my egoistic wall of targets was shattered by the strong waves of tough projects, hectic schedules and such similar stuff which is known to be the original and authorized tradition of Mechatronics Department at EME. Because of the aftershocks of ragging I went through, still I was good to touch 3.11 in 2nd semester and I was lucky again to make my arrow hit 3.11 in the 2nd semester.
Yup.. I’m getting your point of view right now. You are thinking that I’m gonna mention my GPA aims straight to 8th semester in a most fascinated sequence but lets make a full stop here.

source: brotips.com

“Grades don’t measure intelligence and age doesn’t define maturity.”

The thing is sometimes in life, you make a plan, but even after trying hard, you don’t get it. I am a strong believer of this Ayat from Quran Pak.

“But they plan, and Allah plans. And Allah is the best of planners.” -Surah ANFAL

When I was done with my FSc, my aim was to get admission in mechanical engineering at NUST. This aim of mine was deeply shattered because I got admission in Mechatronics Engineering. I was desperate enough but the thing got cleared in my mind later on when the marks I obtained in Electronics subjects survived my overall grades and that was the point I came to know that I don’t have that much grip on mechanical subjects even if I do try. So, definitly it was the best for me. Getting back to the GPA thing, people in my university are of two types: One are those who say GPA matters and the other are those who say it doesn’t. Well, it does and it doesn’t at the same time. I have seen a guy getting a well paid job with a CGPA of 2.2 and I have also seen a guy with a CGPA of 3.5 but having none at that time. So, shaping it in a humorous way, it’s all the game of thrones like thing.
“Do your best and leave the rest to Allah”.

I don’t know where I would be in a year or in 5 years to come. I don’t make plans now, rather I just try. It’s my life, my GPA and obviously I’m the creator of my own rules..!!

Leave a Reply

